Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

New to forum

liegelord

Been reading posts for a few months, thanks to Coach Sommer and everyone else for their input, I've learned a lot. I am still new to gymnastic training and wanted to just give an idea about my current strength levels before I asked a question.

I'm 5'11, 198: (last workouts, not max lifts, no belts or wraps, always full ROM)

conventional deadlift, 445x5, double-overhand, just chalk

olympic squat, 370x5

squat clean, 265x3

clean & strict press, 145x5

dips, bw+100x5

wide-grip pull-ups, bw+35x5

I finally got a full ROM HSPU this week and can hold a freestanding HS for 10 seconds. On front levers I hold an advanced tuck for 30 seconds and can get a straddle back lever for a second. I got a full 25 seconds on the tucked planche yesterday on my parallettes. :D

But, off the floor, I can only hold a tuck planche for a few seconds. My floor work is a train wreck though; I can hold an L-sit on the rings and bars for 20 seconds, but can't do them off the floor at all. :x Another trainer noticed that when I do a tucked planche I was hyper-extending my elbows, my biceps face forward instead of inside, towards each other.

My questions are, is this a common problem and how is it overcome? Is it just a matter of working the holds without hyper-extending the elbow? Is it because my forearms are not strong enough in the correct position? Suggestions are appreciated. :D

It seems like you're fairly strong and you can hold it on various raised apparatus, but you have trouble off the ground, hmmm. Well, two of my first guesses would be either your quads or abs aren't strong enough. You can do them off of aparatus though, so, that could be a small part of it, but jeez it could be a few factors. Are your arms long enough? Maybe your hands are in weird positions?

I think you should post a video or picture of you trying to do them off the ground for us versus on rings/paralettes.