Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

how good are isometric exercises?

DiTi

I've been using isometric training for many years now and from my experience i can say that they are not that good because they dont build strength at full range of motion so for example a straddle planche hold is not going to make you strong enough to do a straddle planche press to handstand. so i was thinking that maby instead of training for example planche holds or front lever hold maby is better to start training planche press to handstand or front lever press to inverted hand because in that way we would be building strength in full range of motion and would get alot more stronger than if we just trained to hold those positions

so anyway i just wanna know your opinion on this

thank you for your time

stay strong :)

also:

here you can read about NASA's studies on isometric exercises

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Isometric_exercise

some other stuff i've been reading 

http://www.mayoclinic.org/healthy-living/fitness/expert-answers/isometric-exercises/faq-20058186

http://strengthnutrition101.blogspot.com/2012/03/isometric-training-has-been-around-for.html

Edited by DiTi

how do you plan to get into the position if you can't hold it?

if you want to do a planche press to handstand, you have to actually be able be in the planche or handstand position first.

Daniel Burnham

I actually was able to do a planche press to handstand without specific training. I had a strong straddle planche on floor and just pushed up to handstand one day.

i've been reading alot about isometric training and most trainers say that it only builds strength at 30 degree of that movement 

how do you plan to get into the position if you can't hold it?

if you want to do a planche press to handstand, you have to actually be able be in the planche or handstand position first.