Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

a few basic questions for structuring a workout

midshipmancapt

midshipmancapt

I am new to gymnastics training, but have been interested for a very long time. I am purchasing a set of Xtreme Rings and I planning on performing ring based workouts. (I have read the forums before. If I have repeated a question(s) that has previously been answered, I apologize in advance.)

I have heard that one should rest 2-3 minutes between sets in a workout (for strength and some muscle gain).

Is this true and should it be done by performing:

pullups, rest pullups, rest, ..., pushups, rest, pushups, rest, ..., rows, rest, rows, rest, ..., ... OR

pullup, rest, pushups, rest, rows, rest, dips, rest, etc?

How long should me workout be (or not be)? I have heard that one's workout should be under one hour. I don't see how I can incorporate static holds followed by 3-5 sets of pullups, pushups, rows, dips, HSPU followed by pistols, sprints.

I really want to include a solid full body strength routine but how should I include static holds?

it can be done in around an hour, that sort of depends on how long your warmup and cooldown is.

you can pair push and pulling exercises together.

for example: front lever then planche rest 45-90s per static strength rest period

do your statics before you do stuff like dips and pullups. you can do handstand work ( handstands, presses ) after your warmup, as your warmup or at the end of your main workout. it sort of depends how difficult they are for you.

most of my workouts tend to be around 90 minutes to 2 hours but that is because i try to fit in a lot of skill work before the strength work and because i have more than enough time to kill.