Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Splits: mission impossible

gogy

I have been doing lots of streeching lately I am 24 years old and I think I have chronical inflexiblity. in my full side split I lack around 60 cm to floor and in front splits around 30 cm to floor. Is there any way or training routine which would enable me to do full splits one day. I had lots of injuries in taekwondo due to not being flexible twice knee and ankle injuries all on left leg.  What I do lately I put on my leg on gymnastic ring one is on floor and do swings and I attempt splits on sand. 

regards

Merunas Astrauskas

I am not an expert on stretching but I can tell you what helped me get from 60cm to my current ~5cm off the ground. As far as I can tell static stretching has been a waste of time. What really helped me was to stand up and slowly lower myself into the split while fully supporting my body weight on my legs. Sometimes I use the wall to help my balance. After lowering into the split I try to rise up on my feet by pushing them into the ground (Obviously socks and a slippery surface are essential). Progress has been slow but constant. I do this about 2, sometimes 3 times a week. In addition to that I incorporate PNF stretching at the end of the session. Sometimes, with a good warmup and after some stretching I am able to lower myself to the ground.

Here is an image I found on google that does a better job showing what I mean.

Hopefully Stretch One will expand my arsenal of techniques.

• Upvote 1

Connor Davies

Stop trying to do the splits.  Start again at the butterfly, and when you can touch your chest your feet and hold it, move onto the pancake.

• Upvote 1

Daniel Burnham