Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

I'm a beginner is a understatement

Joshua Stanley

Joshua Stanley

Okay so on my journey to finally get my body and diet in shape I have began learning about body weight exercises and other fitness things to do instead of basic weight lifting and treadmill running. I am out of shape and weigh 240 at 6'1". I want to lose weight and be able to do certain exercises.

The exercises I want to do is a pull up, a planche and maybe, maybe one day a human flag,

I know I have a log way to go and losing weight could help with these. I was wondering if anyone has any tips on different things for me to work on.

At the moment I can not do a single pull up or chin up. Everything I read about working up to planche or beginning body weight exercises is to do doing exercises that I can not perform.

Do anyone have any advice or tips one what I can do to begin to work up to these exercises.

Thanks for any help I can get.

planche is a really advanced exercise you should first master the basics like push ups,pull ups,dips,planks etc

to achive a chin up or a pull up work on chin up negatives but if you find them hard try doing australian pull ups those should help alot

and yes losing some weight will help you get better so try eating clean and drink alot of water also you can do cardio like sprinting

The most important thing you need to do is START. Start now. Start where you're at. Don't spend months looking for the perfect answer.

There are lots of resources on the web and at the bookstore to get you started. I've also heard a few good things about a program on some website called "gymnasticbodies".

Seriously, F1 will meet you where you're at (even unable to do one pull up) and progress you to your goals and beyond.

Karl-Erik Karlsen

Yeah, and make sure you clean up your diet if you want to lose weight. That will be paramount - but do it one step at a time so you don't overwhelm yourself.