Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Hello everyone!

notern

Hello there. I'm new here and I've been experienting with gymnastics by myself for about 5 months or so, just sneaking around learning stuff from youtube and testing it like trial and error, until I found gymnasticbodies and hoped I could get some advice from you guys and learn more about GST. I had previous weight training for about 3 years. Been working towards the full Front Lever, supinated Back Lever and Handstand Presses. 

My actual level of strength on the One-Leg Front Lever (with feet touching the knee) is about 6 sets of 16s,
Half Lay Back Lever for 5 sets of 5 seconds and only a rep of Wall-assisted handstand press with my back facing the wall. 

I've been training about 4 times a week, rotating between isometrics, eccentrics and full ROM exercises, like a top-down, bottom's up approach. But, I've been kind of stuck on transitioning from the one-leg FL to half-lay, I practice half-lay eccentrics but couldn't reach 90º yet. Need someone to give me some insight about my actual routine, if possible!

Thanks for everything, and have a nice day!

Joakim Andersson

Hello and welcome!

My training used to be similar to yours. Made some very good progress, stalled elsewhere, had some injuries and a lot of imbalances. All I can do is recommend that you try the Foundation series. In your case, you'll have the front lever progressions laid out from pure beginner to mastering the skill.

Good day!

I'll look forward to get the Foundation series. Meanwhile, maybe if I give you details about the actual routine, can you give me some tips? Thanks again!

Adam Bodestyne

Sure; we know not everyone can get Foundation right away, so you work with what you can. Post your routine and hopefully we can supply some advice.