Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

The handstand is (also) a strength exercise after all...

Rachid Tahri

I think that I finally reached the point that the handstand is a real strength exercise for me, and am happy with it! Let me explain. 

When I was a beginner in the handstand, I could not comprehend that the handstand was (also) a strength exercise because I was reasonably strong to start with and I could hold a (crappy) handstand with the WRONG muscles without trouble. Now when focussing on wall handstands and freestanding handstand with the correct line I have strength problems in the RIGHT muscles:

I finally FEEL WEAK in the trap muscles AND I AM HAPPY with it, because now I (think I) understand what all the others are talking about (on this forum) when they say you have to feel it in the traps.

Especially when I engage PPT while trying to maintain open shoulders in the freestanding handstand, I get perfect balance but I cannot hold it more than 10 sec because I am weak!

This is the first time in my life that am happy with feeling weak in the right muscles! The handstand is full off surprises....How did the handstand surprise you guys?

• Upvote 3

I am feeling the same thing - Now I have trap activation, PPT, can look at my toes, and only a very small arch in the lower back which should be ironed out eventually. What surprised me the most was that when I achieved this line I had to learn how to balance all over again. The correct line reduced my HS to ~10-15 second holds, whereas in the banana handstand I was able to consistently hit ~60-90 seconds. Makes sense that coach prefers his athletes to first get the correct bodyline, then learn how to balance with it.

• Upvote 1