Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

overall fitness development for an absolute beginner

theglue

so recently i havent had access to a gym, and was researching alternative ways to stay in shape without the use of weight training. i read up on some articles online and got hooked in by the sheer degree of active strength and carryover potential many athletes are able to acquire through bodyweight training. thus i set about making a new years resolution of achieving a planche pushup and back+front lever pulls this year. while i realize that for an absolute beginner to achieve this without solid fundamentals is fairly impractical, i believe that the process will prove to be rewarding regardless of how long it takes. that said, ill launch into my questions:

back lever: according to beastskillz, the back lever is an A-level gymnastics move and an individual with 'a bit of pullup and dip strength' might even be able to pull the skill off in his first try. now i definitely didnt expect to get the back lever down on my first try, but i didnt think getting it would be so difficult! i can barely slow my descent when trying to fall through to a skin the cat with a straight core, both legs tucked. and i dont know how to work up to that level. i can do 20 regular pullups and 30 bodyweight dips consecutively with strict form, so im assuming that beastskillz' definition of 'a bit' of strength is my definition of godliness. also, im about 6 feet fall so i have a disadvantageous leverage. what should i do to build up to a back lever if i cant even fall through the position with tucked legs, let alone one leg straight, straddle, etc? i dont have access to rings, so iv been working on a bar.