Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Superman's (Lower Back Exercise) Hurts My Lower Back

fapel

Stuart McGill, who is probably the most-respected researcher in the world on the topic of the human back, says in his book Ultimate Back Fitness and Performance that the superman can place up to 6000N (1400 lbs) of force on a hyperextended spine. Now that doesn't mean everyone can generate that kind of force, or that some people can't get away with it. But for people who've had injuries to the lumbar spine, or people of certain body types and strength levels, the superman can be problematic. I have a bulging lumbar disc and it causes me too much pain to hold the position as well, whereas neutral or hollow positions are pain-free. What McGill recommended as a substitute was Bird Dogs with strong abdominal bracing to keep the spine in neutral.

Maybe you could try to build up your back strength with the Bird Dog and the other Foundation progressions to a point that your back will be able to handle supermans at a later time.

And as others have mentioned, maybe some hip mobility would allow you to get into extension with less force.

A little derail but didn't want to make a new thread.

I have been working up my superman holds but it started to tire my shoulders out way more than my lower back and it was keeping my from making progress. I took a break then tried again but I changed my form a bit and now it taxes my glutes more than anything. Without a picture can anyone who is familiar with the exercise still tell which form would be correct?

Glutes/hamstring activation is absolutely the focus of the exercise.

I don't feel these holds in my lower back at all, as a matter of fact.

• Upvote 1

ok thank you. looks like I have been building strength in the wrong places until recently :(