Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Yoga & Gymnastic Bodies

Steven Perry

Steven Perry

Hi Y'all

I'm a newbie to Foundation1 and Handstand1, about a month into regular training (oh yeah time to

deload :-( ]

I also do yoga 4-5 times a week.  Subtle physical signs and hints are telling me that these two disciplines will fuel one another's progress nicely. In fact, I think the Foundation and Handstand training is having a nice impact on my yoga practice already. 

Anyone else have similar yoga cross-training experiences to share?

Cole Dano, one of the moderators/coaches here is a big yoga dude in Finland (why there, I don't know.)  He generally tended to answer to most yoga, stretching, etc related inquiries.   I'm sure he'll add something eventually.

I do yoga once a week, twice maybe.  I participate primarily in what my gym calls 'yoga for athletes' classes.  These are semi hyped up 1 hour classes, sort of level 2-3, with less meditative/restorative stuff and more flow/action/inversion/balances.  

I don't know the F1 or H1 syllabus, I started with GB 3 years ago when it was just WODs plus posted foundation work and eventually added the book.  My focus now is mostly hand balancing, core work, levers and the occasional ring work.  I feel comfortable with my GB foundation and have eased into that groove of just enjoying it.  

Given that, I will say that they are only 'somewhat' complimentary.  On the face US style yoga aids with flexibility and body awareness but lacks IMO a well-conveyed strength component.   GB is somewhat ahead of other athletic endeavors where repeated process builds strength and muscle memory but lacks true attention to body awareness (Coach does an awesome job of preaching this attention to form but it's tough given the dynamics of the movements).