Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Zero Internal Rotation At The Hip

PatrickMeniru

PatrickMeniru

I'm fairly new to gymnastics training, having been a track athlete and soccer player for many years.  I've struggled with some squat variations and have realised that I have absolutely no internal rotation of the femur.  Any internal rotation apparent in the foot comes from the knee.  The furthest I can rotate my femur is to have my knee facing directly forwards.   I have no problem with external rotation and can get my feet to form a 180 degree angle with my heels touching.

One issue I have is that any way that I can think of to try and apply pressure to the leg to force some internal rotation will put a great deal of stress on the knee.

If anyone has any advice then I would be more than willing to experiment within reason and very grateful.

Joshua Simmich

You need to work out if the lack of internal rotation is due to the muscular system (tightness in the external rotator muscles or weakness in internal rotation) or due to the structure of your bones or joints. Does it feel like a muscle is being stretched at the end of your range, or does it feel like you bones/joints just don't go very far?

It's true that most methods of applying external force to internally rotate the hip usually involve flexing the knee to 90 degrees and using the lower leg as a lever, which does transmit force through the knee. But if you haven't had any problems with your knee ligaments before, then you shouldn't really expect any problems as long as you're not overly forceful with your stretches.

Plus you can always try use your own muscles to internally rotate, by doing this kind of thing: http://www.lhup.edu/yingram/jennifer/LEMMT/GintrotSP.jpg Your hips will internally rotate more when your hips are flexed.

PatrickMeniru