Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

COMPLETE newbie to gymnastics. Need help with stretching!

gkdmstjr

Hey guys. I am very new to gymnastics, and I want to stretch stretch stretch my legs. 

Here is where I'm at, in terms of stretching:

-can't touch my toes for more than 1 second

-can't sit upright (90 degrees) with my legs out in front, regardless of spread legs or not

As you can see, I am very inflexible; your average person. Unfortunately I have no special "equipment," siblings that can help me stretch, or friends that are willing to do so (LOL!), so I have to do this the old-fashion way.

My goal, ultimately, is for me to be in a position such as this: http://24.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_m8tdi1jv1q1rdntqzo1_1280.jpg (credit to whoever made this picture, I just found it on google)

As you can see, his legs are spread and are perpendicular to his body. Currently this is impossible to me and is ways ahead of what I can imagine.

I'd be more than glad to receive any tips and guidelines for stretching in order to be a more healthier and a more flexible me from the seasoned folks around here(: 

Jon Douglas

Kit's work will definitely make you flexible; MobilityWoD.com can help get up to speed if you're starting from a position of 'negative' flexibility, as you sort of sound you are :)

So if you perform some sitting pike and straddle reach forwards (trying ben and straight legs) how does that go?

FREDERIC DUPONT

:unsure: That may be a little bit ambitious to start with... :huh:

How about setting this as a first step? With the goal of putting your palms flat on the floor.

550px-Get-a-More-Flexible-Back-Step-2.jp

and that:

Stretch_1.jpg

That should not take you too long, and set you up in the right direction. :)

I would reccemond visiting kit Laughlin's forum and do some reading.

http://kitlaughlin.com/forums/index.php?/forum/4-all-topics-relating-to-stretch-therapy/