Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Stuck at Handstand progress

Ashok Raju Kothapalli

Ashok Raju Kothapalli

Hi guys,

I have been doing wall handstands(belly to the wall) for almost 2 months, before that i did for a few months as well before taking a break.

I dont know what is wrong but ....

I am able to do 5 sets of 40-45 wall handstands

i am also doing handstand wall runs every now and then

but still when i try to push away into a freestanding handstand while in a back to the wall handstand

I am unable to hold it for more than 2 seconds i dont know what is wrong

Please help me out

i do some hollow body holds before every handstand workout 5 sets of about 45 seconds

but these are not the perfect hollow body, they are the beginning progression.... imagine you are sitting in a chair with your hands tucked in your sides, now imagine you this same way but with your back to the floor this is the hold that i am practicing coz i dont have teh strength yet

PS i am a six foot tall ectomorph, with a long torso and heavy legs....not very ideal right, is this the reason it is so hard to balance???

Are your shoulders aligned with your wrists? It's impossible to balance if they aren't.

Also, you should try balancing from a stomach to wall HS.

No, your height shouldn't have anything to do with balancing in a handstand. It'll definitely make planche and levers harder though...

Ashok Raju Kothapalli

How do i make sure that the shoulders are aligned with the wrists??

Could the balance be harder due to lack in core strength?

Doing wall handstands would give u the strength, but not the balance and most certainly not the freestanding automatically.

Practice is key here (hundreds of failed kicks to a freestanding handstand is part of the journey) before u get your freestanding

Mikael Kristiansen