Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Pull up and dip strength

Justin Andzel

Justin Andzel

I know I already posted, but I have been re-evaluating my goals. I'm new to gymnastics training and this is a very exciting time.

My question to you is this. If I were to focus solely on isometric movements like Handstands, Lsits, both levers, and planches, would I develop the strength to eventually master moves like high volume pull ups, dips, and skills like muscle ups and handstand push ups? Is this an approach anyone uses?

Alexander Svensson

I don't think that is a wise thing to do. Static training has only a little carry-over to dynamic training. If you really want to achieve those things you will need to do both dynamic and static training.

It's best to do both isometric and kinetic exercises instead of just statics. To answer your question, I know that FL increases pull-up strength and PL + BL increases dip strength. HSPUs may or may not come from just training HS and PL and you should be able to do a fast MU, but not a slow one if you just practiced those statics you mentioned. Just training statics is not a good approach really.

Mikkel Ravn

There are many nuances to what I'm about to say, but I think its fair to say that, for all practical purposes, the dynamic exercises will promote hypertrophy, while the static exercises will maximize the force output of your current muscle mass. So you'll see that the statics will allow you to make the most of what you've got and will increase strength to bodyweight ratio, while the dynamic exercises will allow you to grow more muscle tissue in the long term, which will in turn be recruited maximally by the static exercises, and so on and so forth. You get the picture. Static and dynamic exercises are complimentary, something that Coach already stated way back in Building the Gymnastic Body.