Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Arms bending backward at elbows during ring training.

Barnabás Kállai

Barnabás Kállai

Hi,

I've been doing gymnastics bodyweight exercises for a couple of years now. I've been doing planche, back lever, front lever and handstand training. I do static and dynamic exercises and don't have any signs of overtraining (atleast I don't think I do.) In the past 5 months I've shifted all of my exercises over to the rings. 

I mainly do different kinds of dips, L-sits, assisted iron cross exercises and a "pseudo maltese" exercise (my legs are up on a bench and I get into a pushup position with my front body weight on the rings and let my arms out to the side, lower myself down, hold and bring myself back up.)

I try and place a lot of emphasis on proper form so I always keep my arms straight and toward the direction of exerted force (ie. toward the floor when doing iron cross and maltese).

I have footage of doing the exercises and my arms are bending backwards at my elbows. I feel no pain but it looks wierd and I don't know how far it will end up bending backward in the long run. 

I am able to flex and bring my arms back to a straight position, but when I do that I feel I am "cheating", the feeling is like doing the exercise with bent arms (making it easer), even though my arms are actually perfectly straight. 

Any advice on what I should do? Do I need more bicept strength to keep my arms straight? Do I continue the exercises with arms pointing backward or do I flex to bring my arms to a straight position (but make the exercise considerably easier)?

Does anyone else have this problem?

Thank you!

Joshua Slocum

If your elbow is hypermobile (i.e. it naturally extends beyond 180 degrees), then you should perform straight-arm strength skills at full extension. Do not try to keep it at 180. 

Very common for men's gymnasts. Some will have some pretty extreme hyperflexion in the elbows.