Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Creatine Cycling

Falcon

Hi

I'm using creatine monohydrate for about 2 and a half months now and I'm curious if I should stop taking it now for, let's say a month, and then start again for 2 or 3 months.

Is creatine cycling better than taking it everyday because your body gets used to the creatine, so the power-up effect dissapears after few months? I've thought of not taking creatine for a month to get that "power-up" effect again.

Any thoughts?

• 4 weeks later...
Martin de Jesus Ponce Robaldino

Well, some months ago, i get into creatine cycling, in all the lectures i did, i found that the most recomendable thing about cycling, is that you should program them for max one and half months (6 weeks), due to liquid retention and the potencial damage to your kidneys...

I'm not an experte, but that was what i read...

sorry for the english and greetings from Mexico!

Purely my experience, but it does match what the Poliquin article says. I took it for about 8 months straight. I did manage to gain about 10 kilos, but the last few months felt 'heavy'. About 3 weeks after going off, i felt lighter and noticed a sudden spike in strength. I think mostly due to being lighter, but with more muscle mass.

I did meet my goals, to gain the 10kg. Next year will do another cycle, and try to gain another 10 kg. For now i'd like to consolidate my strength gains.

Joshua Naterman

It depends on what kind of creatine you're taking and how much, but in general cycling it 2-3 months on 1 month off seems to be the best way to do things if you're going to cycle, but there really isn't a need to cycle completely on and off. There have been 5 year studies on creatine that confirm there is no risk to long term use. Well, at least for 5 years lol! That's a long time though.