Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

My workout meal. Critiques and comments appreciated.

Tyler Phillips

Tyler Phillips

Hello all. This is the meal that I've been eating for a few months now prior - that is about 3-4 hours prior - to any kind of serious workout, "serious" referring to prolonged exercise over at least an hour's worth of time. This is mainly whenever I meet with friends at the gymnasium, go for a swim, etc. For smaller bouts of activity, such as "Hey I feel like doing handstands all of a sudden" I'm usually not running on this meal but on something else that's adequate. In any case, I just felt like sharing this and would like to hear other peoples' thoughts in terms of effectiveness and whatnot. At worst, it's a delicious meal that's worth cooking up if one's so inclined. :mrgreen:

All it consists of is a mix of the following (variable amounts depends on time before workout and how hungry I am):

- 1-3 cups cooked rice

- 1-2 chopped carrots

- 1 handfull of small broccoli heads

- 1 handfull of chopped green/red/orange/yellow pepper. If I'm lucky I'm able to do a mix of all of them.

- 1-2 stalks of chopped celery

- 1 handfull of chopped sweet onion

- 2 cloves garlic (I've found out the hard way anything beyond that can be... potent :P )

- 1-2 pieces of tilapia or some other simple fish

- 1 small handfull of sunflower seeds

- Seasoning - I've been using oregano and basil

I have my own rice cooker, and with this rice cooker comes a steaming tray that sits above where the rice cooks. After letting the rice steam for a bit I put in the tray with all the above ingredients except the onion, garlic, sunflower seeds, and seasoning. After everything is cooked I add these ingredients afterwards that way their flavor isn't lost.