Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Creatine: monohydrate vs kre-alkalyn

Razz

Would love to see a discussion on the subject of monohydrate vs kre-alkalyn as I'm running out of creatine soon. Here is what I can see from the general product descriptions:

monohydrate:

- possibly conversion to creatinine which is ineffective and dangerous

- water retention (this can be good or bad, but probably bad for relative strength)

- takes time to store in body

- it works, in my experience.

- 10g/day dose

kre-alkalyn:

- no creatinine conversion

- no buildup time required

- 1.5g/day dose

- no water retention (again, can be good or bad)

- I have no experience with this, and the studies I found were all from the same place so most likely there is a bias.

Please post your experiences with this.

Good question Razz! I was also going to ask the same thing at some point. For now i just bought some 'mono' since i could find it in town, but is there really a difference?

not sure.

BUMP, any experience and knowledge from some of the smart guys is really appreciated :)

University of Tulsa did an independant study/review... they found no significant advantage to any form of creatine (don't remember all the variations tested) and monhydrate to be the most cost effective form...

Neal Winkler
not sure.

BUMP, any experience and knowledge from some of the smart guys is really appreciated :)

What would be the relevance of experience with supplements when there is no peer-reviewed research? The placebo effect is too powerful to listen to anecdote, not to mention people rarely control confounding variables in real life.

Only pubmed can solve this, IMO. No pubmed, no need to continue discussion.

Hmm yeah I guess that's true Triangle.. Monohydrate it is, until someone convinces me otherwise lol.

Neal Winkler