Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Today I realized I don't know how to strength train

Santiago Pinzón

Santiago Pinzón

Today while I was training I realized this. Let me explain.

I've been training for about 2 years gymnastics type and 3 year+ of lifting before that. In that period my focus has always being strength (not endurance or muscle) and I have achieved things like a 405 deadlift, muscle ups, straddle front lever and so on.

The thing is, while in flexibility training I feel like I really know how to stretch, in strength I feel ignorant on how to actually do the exercises. It is not a matter of form or programming, it's about HOW TO ACTUALLY DO IT. For example, when I see how most people stretch I know it's ineffective because they struggle too much, stay in the position too short and try to force themselves into positions that are out of reach. When I stretch I know the correct depth at which to be, which muscles to contract, etc etc. But in strength, I realized I'm just how I see most people are in flexibility: I get into a position, struggle too much, get impatient and try to get myself into something harder (ie. a full front lever), only to fail and retry. Up to now my progress in flexibility has surpassed greatly that in strength, I do not think it has to be with genetics (I always was gifted for endurance, not these too) but on this crucial point.

Also, I don't know the most effective exercises for strength. In flexibility loaded flexibility was a game changer for me, but strength is just a constant frustration.