Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

DIY garage stall bar and dip bar rig

Anthony Michalski

Anthony Michalski

Hello fellow athletes,

I whipped this up over the weekend with only $180 worth of material from Lowe's and about 7 hours of work.  This includes trial and error as I am not a building expert.  But I do make workout things for myself to save money.  The stall bar rungs are 1" metal conduit.  The dip bars are 1 and 1/4" metal conduit.  The dip bars can detach to save space.  

Regards,

Tony

Tony's rig.jpg

• Like 3
  • Upvote 1

Anthony

Please do not think this is being negative about your project - I've just become acutely aware about safety through the Facebook group "Safety in Aerial Arts"; the group has members who are professional riggers and who explain the various forces involved in aerial (and sometimes gymnastic) equipment. There are a few things on my own stall bars that I will now not do (and will no longer do) as a result. Even hanging rings off the trusses in my garage has risks, which I wasn't aware of.

Anyway, from your photo, some questions:

1. How are the uprights attached to the wall? I see angle plates with what are possibly??? nails. Given that the rear wall looks like a composite timber, I am concerned that there is insufficient anchorage - the nails may pull out if you exert sufficient force parallel to the floor.

2. The legs of the stall bars do not appear to reach the floor, so there will also be a shear component (directly down) across the fixings any time you are on the stall bars. Any movement on the stall bars (swinging legs from side to side, for example) will increase this shear; it can be several times bodyweight, even with small movements.