Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Anyone ever use Aikido style wrist stretches/strengthening for handstand training?

Josh Vogel

I've been doing thinking a lot about wrist prep after being exposed to the excellent handstand one course and also participating in a Hand balancing class at the Circus school in Philly and it got me thinking about how different martial arts approach wrist prep. I'm a Brazilian Jiujitsu instructor, and there's not much that I've seen in Bjj to deal with this, but I see Aikido guys yanking each other around by the wrists all over the place and it seems like they have pretty well developed wrists. Does anyone have any experience with this?

I found this on youtube, and am going to experiment with some of these stretches. It's a different range of motion than Hand balancing, of course, but I'm curious to see how it effects both my hand balancing practice and my Bjj practice. 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3DnAV_NziRg

I have observed some Aikido practices utilizing wrist push-ups that are not unlike the ones prescribed in the handstand course.  As you observe, Aikido, and some jujutsu ryu, emphasize seizing and locking the wrist, so it makes sense to prepare this joint.  I would think that having only a pronounced range of motion would not be enough; there would need to be resilience through a range of motion in order to help guard against injury.  

I read once that one of the reasons some of the jujutsu ryu focus some much on the wrist and controlling the hand is because of the predominance of bladed weapons in the classical setting.  Controlling the wrist and hand was then essential.  Not sure if that is actually true, but I guess it makes sense.