Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Minimum calories, cutting, and cycling

bombadil

Hi all. Before beginning, I'd like to say that I'm now 177lbs on a 5'7" frame down from 193 at my heaviest this past fall. I've been tackling F1 and H1 since august of 2013.

That said, I've been stalling out a bit with the weight loss. Really , the last 16lbs has been the result of a simple dietary intervention: avoid binge eating. Now that I have that habit under better control, it's time to refine and tweak.

I've counted my calories for 57 days straight now, so I have a good idea of what I'm eating. 2400=maintenance; 2600+ gaining; 2100 or lower I start dropping weight.

Here's the deal: I want to get the weight off. Period. Don't care right now about muscle, performance, or strength gaining as I would shift to performance eating after I get to my desired leanness (which looking at multiple calculators put me around 155lbs). So, I have a ways to go...

If I cut hard, and it say 1500 cals per day with around 100 grams of protein, I drop about 2 lbs per week. This is uncomfortable, but managable...however, I usually read somewhere that it's too low and I start freaking out about dropping testosterone and other subsequent issues.... Then I stop and regain lost weight.

I came across This article here about eating 800 cals per day and how it does not produce any hormonal issues in be short term.

http://fitnessblackbook.com/dieting_for_fat_loss/maintain-muscle-mass-on-800-calories-per-day/

Not that this is ideal, but it seems to show that the body can drop weight very fast for a short period of time.... Is it a bad idea to push a very. Low calorie approach to speed up weight loss for the short terms, then Slowly reverse,taper the calories back over time?

Like 2 weeks of 1000-1200 cals

Then 2 weeks of 1500

Then 2 weeks of 1800

Then being cycling between maintenance and deficits from there on out while getting closer to maintenance ?