Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

High protein diet increases likelihood of early death and cancer as much as smoking 20 cigarettes/day

Seabird

Douglas Wadle

I'm by no means a high protein diet supporter, but this study is making grandiose claims based on very little human data.  This is mostly animal data, and mostly observational and based on extrapolation of hormonal alterations.  I think this kind of study adds to the science in that it helps direct other research in the future, but when the media or the authors make claims that aren't supported by the research, it just adds to why people are so confused about what to eat and how to exercise, etc.  It's similar to the claims made on another post that excessive endurance activities are bad for you.  Too much extrapolation from too little data. Here's a link to the actual study in case you want to read it.  I personally wouldn't change what I'm doing based on this research.  

http://download.cell.com/cell-metabolism/pdf/PIIS155041311400062X.pdf?intermediate=true

• Upvote 1

I'd be interested to know exactly what animal protein was given?  Was it cage free, grass-fed, and organic?

Douglas Wadle

it wasn't a controlled study.  it was a survey of what people were eating, and those who at over 20%(if i remember correctly) of animal proteins were included in the high protein arm. 

Josh Schmitter

Having not read the study, my thoughts are:

Should I have the leftover veggies and free range chicken in the fridge, or maybe the hot dogs from the farm?

• Upvote 1

Joshua Naterman

There is no causal data at all. What I see is high protein + low carbs = not an ideal situation, which is something I will probably keep repeating until I die of very old age or a catastrophic traffic accident. There's no surprise there, but there's no data on vegetable intake, quality of various food sourcing, etc etc etc, physical activity, and so on.