Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Coming Out of Calorie Deficit

Tristan Curtis

Tristan Curtis

Hi all,

I've been eating an 800-1,000 calorie deficit every day for the past six months. I'm approaching my target weight (woohoo!), so it's time to start planning a diet to maintain my target weight.

My RMR is about 1,950cal/day, which coincidentally is what I'm eating at the moment. However, I create an est. deficit of 600cal running + 400cal F1&H1. Which means I will need to add 1,000cal to my diet - shifting from 2,000cal to 3,000cal per day. (Numbers rounded up for simplicity.)

My question is - that's a pretty big change in food intake - would it be a good idea to build up to 3,000cal/day gradually? I was thinking about making the diet change overnight, until I realised my body would be pretty used to 2,000cal/day after six months of it. Maybe a more gradual change would be kinder to my body metabolically. Perhaps I could add 200cal/day every 5 days, so I transition from 2,000cal/day to 3,000cal/day over 25 days.

What do you think?

Alexander Svensson

I'm no expert but I've read several times that when switching between deficit/balance/surplus it should not be done overnight. Perhaps something like a week or so? I can't remember any potential side-effects of switching cold turkey but apparently it's not recommended.

• Upvote 1

Do it very gradually, a hundred calories every few weeks or so, otherwise you will just rocket back up. I have no scientific basis for this other than just sudden changes for your body can be hard to cope with. Might have something to do with hormone balance or something but I dunno

Tristan Curtis

spinelli: adding 100cal every 3 weeks means it would take me 7 months to transition. Even if I started now, I'd drop down to 130lb just building up calories! :P