Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Software project

Ádám Ficsór

Ádám Ficsór

Hi guys!

I'm a software engineer and whenever I've read a very detailed books in the field of nutrition or training I've always felt the urge to program them (in fact I did some).

In this topic I would like to get some ideas. What program would make you guys happy?

A program that takes as input a scholarly article on nutrition or exercise programming and as output provides a short summary of what, if any, meaningful findings were made.

Maybe something as simple as an app that reminds you to eat regularly. I quite often find I get busy and by the time I realise I'm hungry it's been 4 or 5 hours since I ate a proper meal. 

You could just hit a button when you eat and it will start a timer for 3 hours (possibly user adjustable depending on their dietary regime, or even if it took into account how many calories you'd just eaten), and notify you at 2.5 hours that you are due to eat again soon, and again at 3 hours and every 15 minutes after 3 hours.

Not eating enough or regularly enough is probably one of the most common barriers to us fitness enthusiasts who are trying to build up strength and body mass so if we had an app nagging us to eat we could get some help upregulating our dietary habits.

Ádám Ficsór

A program that takes as input a scholarly article on nutrition or exercise programming and as output provides a short summary of what, if any, meaningful findings were made.

Theoritically something like that could be done. If we could come up with a model what most physiological process could fit into then we could just read an article and refactor the code every time.

A program to upload a picture of what you are eating and returns the precise nutrient content. :)

This is an exciting idea for a modul of a very big project, I'm going to deep google if something like that is done before.