Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

my meal plan and some simple recipes

xiang

Hi all,

Recently I've been carefully tracking calories with myfitnesspal.com in an attempt to drop body fat from around 18% to a lean 8-12%. I've had moderate success, losing a bit under 1lb per week on a 3-400 calorie deficit. I'm also a diehard foodie, so there's this constant struggle to strike a balance between food that is satisfying and healthy. GB is the only fitness forum I frequent, and I've learned a lot here so this is my attempt to give back. I've been really happy with how my meal plans have evolved, and I want to share my experience in hopes that others can benefit. This might be a bit long-winded, but I love talking about food. :D

I'll preface by stating that I'm by no means an expert on nutrition; I'm just trying to adopt the best eating habits I can based on my schedule, budget, and preferences. Please assume that anything I say is just an educated guess. I have experimented with a fairly low carb paleo diet, and it didn't work out well for me. Now I aim for a sort of "semi-paleo" approach, with a preference for lean meats, vegetables and non-grain carb sources, with a few exceptions. My goal is to eat meals that are healthy, quick to prepare, and inexpensive. Here's an example of a day's meals:

Breakfast:

1 cup rice

1 stewed egg

50g stewed beef

Lunch:

1 cup greens

1 cup fibrous vegetables

200g boiled potato

200g lean beef

Workout:

20 grams dextrose

1.5 scoops whey

Dinner:

1/2 cup greens

1/2 cup fibrous vegetables

100g roast chicken

1 cup rice

This breaks down to roughly 1700 calories and works quite well for me. The lunch gets split into two servings, and it fills a 2 liter container to the brim while only providing about 700 calories. On non-workout days, I'll replace the workout nutrition with a light meal or snacks. I do all my shopping at the local farmer's market, which I visit once a week.