Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

L-Sit transitioning from Parallettes to floor

Andrew Lim

Hi guys,

I have been working L-sits for about 5 months now and have made some progress on Parallettes. Currently my max hold is 30s, with 15s x 4 now my working sets. I can do it a bit straighter and legs higher as per below.

post-51142-13531537236631_thumb.jpg

I am wondering what I can do to transition to the floor. Currently, I can just barely get myself off the floor. Not enough for working sets. I can do it on a couple of books, but this is probably around a 5s max hold.

post-51142-13531537236952_thumb.jpg

I think that hamstring and general flexibilty need work & I am doing that a couple of dedicated times a week. This photo on the chair also shows the flexibility issues I think. I sense that the lack of flexibility could be in my whole body. I am 34, not getting younger and have always been very tight everywhere :?

post-51142-1353153723727_thumb.jpg

Oh and further to my L-sit story, about 2 1/2 months ago I was trying floor L-Sits on my fingers & injured both of my thumbs (from bending back). The pain has only just gone away. To other newbs - don't do l-sits on your fingers. :!:

I am just wondering if anyone has any comments about how I can get more 'compression' or 'lift' to get off the parallettes. I am doing weighted pikes, some band assisted hammy/IT Band/ leg stretch. I sort of think more time on the parallettes is a bit of a dead end. Any help on what to focus on will be much appreciated.

Thanks,

edna

ps I have lurked here for months after finding posts about improving pullups & have learnt a lot, so thanks to everyone

Bruno Cochofel

One drill you can try, on the floor, hands pressing down, try to lift your butt feet resting the floor, only try to lift butt.

One thing about the pictures, on L-sit you should straight your legs and point your feet..