Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Full Planche Push Up - Elbows Locked Out?

Paolo

ADRIANO FLORES CANO

I think you've to keep with straddle variation on PU because you're doing them right IMO but not strong enought to do them with legs together; you lose form when do them full, not reach the floor and arch the whole body, and you know that's not right. 

In any case, I'm not an expert so I may be wrong.

But...

Men, you're doing straddle planche PU and not much time ago you reach full planche... hahaha, monster! 

Slow my friend, keep doing them and finally you get there. Steady progress!

Well done Paolo.

You're getting there! Only problems I see are your hips are high and piked when you do them. If you are worried about protraction, then one cue I have that I'm not sure if you're already doing is squeezing your arms together throughout the whole movement like trying to squeeze the floor or bars together. I can do straddle planche push-ups now and I find that it is easier when using that cue and I think it helps you to protract more when ascending. Overall, that is nice progress you're making!

Do you also find that planche push-ups help a lot with your static planche strength?

Parth Rajguru

Your straddle planche push ups were done with proper form. I think you should spend more time working that variation and build some volume. You don't look ready to work full planche push ups yet. Eventually to make it more progressive, you may want to do the variation where the eccentric is done in full planche and concentric is done in straddle planche, like at 0:54. That push up variation is not perfect now, but I suspect that after more volume with straddle planche push ups, you will be ready to progress to the eccentric overload. Then you may be better able to move to full planche push ups.

Joshua Naterman

I think you need to be doing what Raja said.