Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

6' 2" — is it "diagnosis" for skills like planche/maltese?

Alex_K

Hello, Folks. I'm totally new to this resource and have 3,5 months of ring training. Before that there were 4 years of swimming, 3 years of BMX street and 4-5 years of rock climbing.

I'm 25 yo, 6' 2" height and 185 pounds weight. Through entire life have an ectomorph body type, but in 5 last years have really gained some muscle mass, don't know from where, so now looking more like something between "ecto" 'n "mezo". And also not to mention — my nutrition and sleeping order are super ugly and unstable (in general i'm eating 'n sleeping too little).

For this months on rings have gained next skills: solid muscle up without kipping (a bit slow, cause the transition part from pull to dip is still demanding, but solid), L-sit RTO, 140 degree V-sit on the parallettes, clear back lever with pullout without any pike, one-leg front lever with pullout, 3 front rolls to support in a row, front kip to support, rare back kip (or feldge) to support with pike, handstand using cables, totally solid straight arms 50 degrees (lacking 40 to full) iron cross with pullout.

But all the skills which assume the holding body in horizontal positions such as levers, planche, they are SO struggling for me. Of course, it's obvious why — my own body is such a LONG lever.

At present my lower body and upper body have pretty harmony development (legs are really strong because of really much time spent in trekking with bags from 30 to 65 pounds in local mountains). So i have an assumption to take my sleeping and eating to normal planned manner which would be aimed to get about 15-20 pounds of muscles into upper body.

I think that more muscle volume with identical strength reserve could develop more power than lower volume. Is that suggestion in general view correct?