Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

3 day splits?

iwanttolearn

Hey guys, I was just wondering if people in gymnastics work out everyday? Every other day? Is it like in weight lifting where you do 3 day splits or 4 day splits? And also do you work full body every time or do it like weight lifting where its separate muscles each day? Sorry guys I'm a beginner lol thanks in advance!

It all depends on body recovery. SOme people work out six times a day some people work out, most people here work out Mon, tuesday, Thur, Fri or Mon, Wed, friday. It alll depedns on how your body recovers and what you are looking to do.

Daniel Burnham

Splits are generally a training regimen found in bodybuilding. I think they became popularized by famous bodybuilders who did very large volume on a single muscle group while using substances to advance recovery. This high volume approach is also possible to some extent in experienced athletes. Full body workouts are considered a better alternative because it produces a larger response in the body without having to use any of said substances. The details of this can be pretty in depth and involve several physiological processes in the body.

Strength trainees including recreational gymnasts, powerlifters and olympic lifters should probably follow some sort of full body regimen. Another alternative is to do a push and pull day which is what I believe the WOD tries to do sometimes (it does however include full body days). However I have not been to a seminar so I do not completely understand the methodology of the WOD's.

A good example of a full body workout is the killroy template. This is a simple push and pull workout schedule that uses opposing forces as a balancing effect. I personally follow this methodology. You can find that thread on the forum fairly easily by searching. The WOD is also very good but may require some more effort on your part to scale correctly if you are a beginner.