Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Front lever, is it bad for shoulders/shoulder impingement?

Guest xani

I started training for front lever and dormant shoulder impingement had woken up.... been having pain around the ends of the clavicle, where it meets the shoulders and in general under the lower part of the clavicle, since I started to do front lever progressions (I'm not nearly there yet). Is front lever bad/damaging for shoulders? I think that training for back lever doesn't cause me problems... I can't really just lay off front lever work, as I'm taking a class and this is required. I'm doing aerial straps, not rings, actually, but this is very similar, straps would be the closest to the rings of all other apparatus. Trainer in class doesn't bother much, he just watches.... don't want to get hurt.

Perhaps do a bit more of a warmup before the straps? Not sure if you're doing that. Try to scale back on some of the intensity.

Nic Scheelings

Perhaps your shoulders are rolling too far forward when doing front levers and this causing the impingement? Remember you are trying to retract the shoulder blades when performing a front lever.

This makes sense... just yesterday, a teacher commented on my shoulders rolling too much forward when I was hanging in inversion, I guess that's what's happening during front lever progression.... And yes probably not doing enough of a warm up, I often get away with just shoulder warm up, not whole body warm up--probably end up with not enough blood circulation overall.

Joshua Naterman

Make sure to do a lot of training with your traps as far as keeping them retracted and always working on retraction strength as well as stability while the arms are moving. This is one of the real secrets to healthy shoulders and excellent strength.