Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

What should be my goals? And where do i start?

Lcpl Jasiulek

Lcpl Jasiulek

Since I'm beginning Gymnastics, what should some of my goals be as far as skills? I'm new to the work of gymnastics and no idea what skills I should focus on. I honestly have no idea where to start.

Also for my core exercises/workouts, how much should I do?

Aushion Chatman

LCPL (I'm not even going to attempt your last name from memory),

I'm by no means even close to an expert...but my 2 cents would be to get those rings you mentioned you were getting soon. And think about three basic things.

Handstands, Ring Work, Flexibility through ranges of motion

1) For handstands, start spending LOTS of time upside down. How is your handstand? If you don't have a decent one, start kicking up against the wall and start to get used to being upside down. Start learning and developing strength in the hollow position by performing Candlesticks and Hollow Rocks, and attempt to "hollow out" in your handstands. Also work L-sits.

Walk on your hands do handstand push-ups and just plain BE upside down.

When you get decent start working your press to handstand

2) Ring work, start taking those pull-ups and dips to the rings and start to work on your support. If you don't have one, get your muscle up, and then go to the Ring Strength forum and start developing some of the basic skills...Swings, Levers, etc.

3) Start stretching if you aren't and start working on things like bridges and walk-overs, pike often and work on flexibility in your straddle as well.

Lcpl Jasiulek

I was doing some handstands earlier today before my workout, I feel good doing them, but cant hold them for more than a few seconds. Will definently add them in every dynamic stretching session, and will try some wall hand stands.

How long should I do dynamic stretching before a workout/session? Going to google some of those moves you mentioned = P