Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Getting Started Correctly

Anthony King

Hello all,

I've spent quite a bit of time reading the forums and my copy of BtGB and want to ask the senior members if I'm putting together all the information correctly. I'd love to be corrected if I'm in error and to the extent that I am correct perhaps this post could serve as a decent synthesis of the presently available information for other beginners since this question comes up often.

As a beginner my weekly program will contain five components which will be treated in more detail below.

1--WOD (obviously scaled) four times a week

2--Warm-ups for WOD will include FSP work

3--Joint and mobility prep

4--Extra prehab/mobility work after WOD (some is contained in the WOD itself)

5--"Serious" half hour stretch session (once a week for 4-6 weeks, then twice a week)

1--WOD.

Easy enough, I trust Coach Sommer's programming acumen far more than my own. I'll use the book to scale the workouts appropriately and search the forum for tips to scale elements not covered in BtGB.

2--Warm-up/FSP

Although reading BtGB may lead one to believe the L-sit is the starting place, I found a post from Slizzardman in which he passes on information from a seminar instructing beginners to start at even more basic FSP's.

Your (beginner) warm up should look like:

60s plank

60s reverse plank

60s perfect hollow hold with hands over your head

60s arch hold in the superman flying position

60s Parallel Bar support.

60s chin up grip dead hang