Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Sprinting speed?

Pablo585

As a pole vaulter and sprinter at my school, I need to be a fast sprinter. Right now I have a pretty embarassing time for the 200 and need to gain speed to jump higher in pole vaulting. I am planning on starting a summer training schedule and need some input to bring up my speed as fast as possible.

Monday:

FL

BL

PL

HS

HeSPU

Sprints

Tuesday:

Deadlift

Maybe squat

Wenesday:

Light Plyometrics

FL

BL

PL

HS

Thursday:

NLC

Pistols

Friday:

FL

BL

PL

HS

HeSPU

Sprints

What do you guys think of this program? I mostly need to gain speed but also some upper body strength. I will also be including sprints with a pole with normal sprints and high bar work on upper body days.

Thanks!

Neal Winkler

(1) Your program lacks balance between pushing and pulling. Is your pulling strength more advanced than pushing? This is the only reason you would have such an imbalance.

(2) Read the following article.

http://www.higher-faster-sports.com/speedtraining.html

There are some new exercises that will be good for you that have come out since this article was written, but this will give you an overview of the basics for developing speed.

I can help you more later after you educate yourself more. There are many other articles on the site you should read.

You need to some pullups.

Push-pulls on a swiss ball are a good idea. Basically you will lean to planche then push to superman and then back to planche. It's similar to doing straight arm barbell or dumbbell lifts or doing them with bands. A bit similar to chest flies.

As a PV, just like a gymnast you need a crapload of torso strength. Hanging Leg lifts, Inverted situps, skin the cats. Body lever is a good skill since many polevaulters will train a free/clear hip circle 1/2 turn.

We used to swing a lot of PB to HS then stutz dismount. Lots of long hang pullovers.

@trianglechoke