Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

length gymnastic exercises

twan

I am 19years old and have recently started training some gymnastic moves like hspu, back lever, pistols, planche progressions. Will it make the exercises a lot harder due to my height, because I'm 194cm (=6'3)?

Or doesn't height really matter? I'm asking this because my planche training is been slow-going for the last 2-3weeks.

I am no expert, but i'm very sure the longer you are, the more difficult the exercise is.. Simply because when you tuck your legs, the exercise becomes more easy. So by shortening your legs, an exercise becomes easier.

There is a physic rule for this, the crowbar rule.. Don't know how it's called in England/America but in Holland it's called the crowbar rule..

Edward Smith

Yes being taller will make it harder, but, you will also get more out of it. It's all about leverage.

George Launchbury

Hi twan,

It will also vary depending on what proportion of your weight is in your legs: Heavy legs will make the levers a little harder, again because of the leverage involved. However if you've got proportionally lighter legs, that will help matters slightly. You should expect to hit plateaus from time to time anyway, which is normal with gaining strength. Sometimes it's a sign that you need to ease off for a few sessions to get a little extra recovery?

Cheers,

George.

I think people worry too much about this in my opinion. yes it makes a big difference for certain move. I still say work with what you got. I'm 6'1 and have been told by coaches in the past I should give up gymnastics or that they simply cant spot me. Same ones also said they couldnt figure out how I was able to move like I did, or why I was so flexible or how i learned so fast.