Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

planche goal

matt=>

I started training the planche a few weeks ago. Before gymnastic type training I lifted weights. Also right now working on the muscle-up, l-sits and handstands too. I've never been a flexible person AT ALL so that can be an issue, especially with planche.

I can hold the advanced tuck for 5 seconds, but my goal is to get to holding the straddle planche by my birthday, which is May 5.

I think I can do it but it might be a little far fetched. Any feedback/stories on planche progressions is appreciated

Flexibility has nothing to do with planche!

You have alot material on this forum about planche, look for a sticky topics or usea a search button.

With flexibility I'm talking about my wrists, but they're getting better.

Is two-ish months achievable for the straddle or should I progress slower so my body can adapt?

Currently I'm training planche 3x a week, every other day. Usually ~60 seconds of advanced tuck holds with a few sets of leans and/or pushups with my hands at my hips (pseudo-planche???). I also do some wrist stretching on these days for obvious reasons.

Sidenote: two or three other days a week is pull-ups, l-sits, and other core work.

Sorry to hear this from me but I don't think you have a legit adv tuck planche from a few weeks of training even if you lifted weights before. Are your arms locked out? Are your hips in level with your shoulders? You don't have to haste your progress that much and even if you are strong enough your shoulder gridle is likely to be injured by this fast progress. Do some prehab. Make progress slowly. :) And don't take it as an offense. Just an advice.

Joshua Naterman