Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Work capacity and recovery

Zach Cohen

I had asked a question of Canthar in another thread, and he suggested I just follow BtGB as it's already well programmed. I wanted to explain I don't have that luxury, but did not want to hijack that thread, so I started my own. Any advice based on the following circumstances is greatly appreciated! Sorry for the long post, but I thought it was necessary to describe the unique project I'm a part of:

I'm a student in a 10 year traditional Chinese martial arts training program located in the woods in the coastal mountains of northern California. I'm getting towards the end of my first year here. The master is one of the world's foremost martial arts experts, but he is by no means a strength and conditioning expert. The first year here is mainly focused on strength and conditioning to prepare our bodies for more intensive martial arts training. We do however spend an hour a day meditating, an hour a day practicing qigong, 2 hours a day practicing taijiquan, and 30 minutes a day practicing reaction training/sparring to build a foundation.

Other than that, there's about 3.5 hours in the daily schedule for physical conditioning, which includes running up the mountain trail carrying weight (need to be at 50lbs by the end of the year, trail is ~1 mile with 900 feet of gain), jumping drills, 20 minutes for single/pbar/ring work, holding low stances balanced on upright bricks, dropping and pinch grip catching 30lb cinderblocks, staff leveraging for the wrist/forearm, speed drills, and holding some easy static positions for the lower back and abs held for time. This ~9 hour a day schedule is followed 5 days a week, with a half day saturday, and sunday off.