Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Lower Side Back Pain - Any ideas?

John Koliopoulos

John Koliopoulos

Hey guys,

at the beginning of 2016 I got a nice case of lumbargo pretty much out of the blue during warm up, i.e. my back tightened up completely so I had to be carried out the my gym. After months of rehabilitation, I have finally got most of my mobility and ROM back in the back and can do most foundation elements again. I also had an MRI taken that showed no visible damage anywhere. However, I still have issues; I cannot rotate my back from side to side or put strain on my obliques. For example, supine windshield wipers even with bent legs are not possible without pain. When stretching I can do the pancake, but not reach over to one side to grab my toes, immediately it starts firing up directly above the hips on the side of my lower back. If I ignore this, the next day it starts cramping up even while sitting occasionally and spreads to the entire lower back causing residual stiffness. My doctor has not managed to diagnose anything here correctly unfortunately.

Do you have any experience with something like this or suggestions? I feels like a strained muscle but it has been months and it has not gotten better so I am confused.

Thanks for you help.

Alessandro Mainente

Seems a problem of glutes, obliques and quadratus lomborum. Especially the last one it's very rich of connective tissue. it takes a long to heal.

• Upvote 1

Andrew Long

i have something which sound the same or similar.  pain on the lower left side of the back especially during twisting motion.  I noticed stretching the obliques, glute med and especially doing russian twists  slowly and controlled with a straight back moving within a comfortable rom and increasing it slowly as it loosens up helped me (my rom started with me moving only like 10 degrees on each side and has increased to the point where i can do a full russian twist).