Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Pain in joints

Gudmund

I've been training for strenght for 10 years, not very seriously mostly for fun, mostly olympic lifting and explosive power. And the last weeks I've been playing around with gymnastics, I've always wanted it but always thought I've been to weak. It feels great, it hits the body hard, so right know I just test differnt things to try to find my weaknesses .And it is mobillity and joint strenght, and ofcourse muscular strenght as well but I already feel strong enought to destroy my joints if I would train gymnastice to hard. I've done different static hold positions, presses, handstand, weighted pullups(lock in top) differnet types of planche. Training false grip ( will take some time) Mobillity been stetching on rings, this is something that I will be more carefull about. I know I've been making progress to fast, but that was kind of the meaning, find my weak spots. And they are everywere, except my feets, been doing some intense plyometrics for some years. My question is, as a gymnast, how should I respond to joints feeling sorrow, not really pain, more I feel I shouldn't go out so hard on exercises, take it easy. As a gymnast, is this ok? My plan right now is to focus on joint strenght, and how hard is it wise to hit them? I understand that I should not feel "pain" but this sorrowness. I don't have much experience on how to train joints for strenght. English is not my first language so I hope what I write is understandable.

I would suggest that you look at the internet for a couple of podcast with the Coach Sommer, in that podcast he explains in detail how important is programming around your connective tissue instead of programming just thinking in the muscles because muscle recovers faster than the other things and that could give you some troubles if you don't pay attention to the signals that your body gives you.

Edited by chuchodani
  • Upvote 1