Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Back Lever to Front Lever to Planche

Hannibal Ahmed

Hannibal Ahmed

I've already posted a question on Planches, but this is another.  My end point as of right now is performing a Full Planche, and I'm no where near that spot. I'm way out of that league right now.  So I heard that the general progression of strength for a gymnast is that you master the back lever, then the front lever, then the planche, so I figured that I should focus on mastering those three, in that order.  Instead of doing planche work when I can't even do a full back lever. Right?

Daniel Burnham

Nope. Three should be worked mostly in tandem. No need to focus on one at a time.

Of course you need to be using progressive exercises to avoid injury and have maximum carry over.

• Upvote 4

Coach Sommer

As a beginner, I recommend that you do not train the back lever - due to mobility and strength deficiencies in the biceps.

Yours in Fitness,

Coach Sommer

• Upvote 3

Daniel Burnham

As a beginner, I recommend that you do not train the back lever - due to mobility and strength deficiencies in the biceps.

Yours in Fitness,

Coach Sommer

I shouldn't have left this out.

People have found the back lever to be easiest in terms of raw strength required. However trying to do this without prepared elbows can and will lead to injury. Several on this forum have had their training set back years from elbow strains and bicep tears.

Farid Mirkhani

When would it be safe to start training the back lever? After mastery of the German hang?

Also, what exercise/skill would you guys recommend to substitute the back lever for lower back strength (that is also achievable by a so called beginner). The best one I can think of is headstand leg lifts.

When would it be safe to start training the back lever? After mastery of the German hang?